- CHAPEL IN KOMMENO -
The chapel was built in 1713 by Daniel Kombitsi, progeny of an aristocratic family from Crete. After the death of Kombitsi’s, the church first passed to the Theotokis Family and was then sold to the Scarpa Family of Italian origin. After the death of John Scarpa, who took care of the church, the church was abandoned, endangering it with total destruction, until 1996 where the renovation of the temple was initiated by Eleftherios Ligos, as well as with the support of many believers. Renovation was done primarily with the use of original construction materials, thus ensuring the authenticity of the church’s form.
THE CHURCH TODAY
Offering a magnificent view of the Bay of Kommeno, Gouvia’s Marina and the Old Town of Corfu, the chapel of Ypapanti is today one of the most picturesque places to celebrate your wedding in Corfu. The church of Ypapanti celebrates on February 2, the feast of Candlemas ( « the Presentation of Jesus at the Temple » )