Every summer, Corfu island attracts thousands of tourists and has become a favorite destination for summer holidays. The historical and religious monuments, the picturesque villages, the beautiful nature and the hospitality of the locals offer memories difficult to forget. Corfu Town is a gem for sightseeing with many monuments from the Medieval times, including the Old Fortress, the New Fortress, Liston Promenade and the Church of Saint Spyridon, protector of the island.
The Old Fortress of Corfu was constructed by the Venetians in the 15th century on the site of a former Byzantine castle. To make it more secure, they made an artificial fosse. The fortress was connected to the land by a movable, wooden bridge. In 1819, the British replaced this bridge with the present stable pathway, which is 60m long and stands 15m above the fosse, locally known as contrafossa. Today it is one of the most impressive sights on Corfu.
The New Fortress of Saint Mark in Corfu is also referred to as the Fortress of San Marco. It was built by the Venetians and is strategically located in close proximity to the Old Harbor of the town. It took a rather long time to be built (1576 and 1645).
The church of Saint Spyridon was initially built in Sarocco square, Corfu Town. However, in 1590 it was erected in its present location. The architecture of the church is typical of the Venetian architecture that dominates all over the Old Town of Corfu. Its bell tower is the highest spot of the town and this is the first thing that you see as the ferry approaches the island. The locals have deep faith in Saint Spyridon, who is considered the keeper of Corfu.